Tot 2-6 years

group of kids with teacherTot Spot Classes are designed to stimulate pre-school minds and encourage creative thinking through a combination of art, stories, movement and music. New Tot Spot classes are offered throughout the year, so check back frequently!

Tot Spot classes are designed for children ages 2 through 6.

Please note that admission to Discovery Center Museum itself is separate from the Tot Spot classes.

Cost: $12 public; $10 members (per child, per class) - advance registration is required.

Preregistration required; payment must accompany registration. Registration for Members begins August 16; for Non-members begins August 18. Please visit our website to register call 815-963-6769.

In our classes for 2-year-olds, children must be accompanied by an adult.

Adults are not required to attend classes for 3- to 6-year olds but are welcome to come in to observe the class.

Cancellation Policy:  Refunds (less 10%) are available for classes when cancelled at least 10 days in advance. 

To register, call 815-963-6769, stop by our office or register online (at the top of the events purchasing page you can sort by event type).

 

Tot Spot Classes - Fall 2017

 

Puppy Dog Tails

Puppy eyes, puppy ears and puppy noses all have important jobs to do!  Hear puppy “tails” worth barking about and make a special dog to take home.

Sessions for 3 to 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Tues., Sept. 12; 11:00 – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Sept 13; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 3 Wed., Sept. 13; 11:00 – Noon 

Session 4 Wed., Sept. 13; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 5 Thurs., Sept 14; 11:00 – Noon

Session 6 Fri., Sept 15; 9:30 – 10:30 am CLASS CANCELLED

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

Session 7 Tues., Sept. 12; 9:30 – 10:30 am CLASS CANCELLED

Session 8 Thurs., Sept. 14; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Fantastic Five Senses

Cinnamon, cider and a chill in the air: our senses tell us when it’s Autumn.  Come play and explore the sights, sounds, smells, tastes and textures of Fall!                  

Sessions for 3 to 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Tues., Sept. 26; 11:00 – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Sept 27; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 3 Wed., Sept. 27; 11:00 – Noon  

Session 4 Wed., Sept. 27; 1:00 – 2:00 pm CLASS CANCELLED

Session 5 Thurs., Sept 28; 11:00 – Noon

Session 6 Fri., Sept 29; 9:30 – 10:30 am CLASS CANCELLED

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

Session 7 Tues., Sept. 26; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Sept. 28; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Who-o-o’s There?

Swoop down and discover fun facts about our fine-feathered friend, the owl. Glide into learning and create a project worth hooting about!

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Tues., Oct 10; 11:00 – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Oct 11; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 3 Wed., Oct 11; 11:00 – Noon 

Session 4 Wed., Oct 11; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 5 Thurs., Oct 12; 11:00 – Noon

Session 6 Fri., Oct 13; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

Session 7 Tues., Oct 10; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Oct 12; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Silly Scarecrows

Who’s scared of a scarecrow?  Have fun with a festival of fall activities and discover why these life-size dolls are found in fields as you assemble your own silly scarecrow to take home.

Sessions for 3 to 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Tues., Oct 24; 11:00 – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Oct 25; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 3 Wed., Oct 25; 11:00 – Noon  

Session 4 Wed., Oct 25; 1:00 – 2:00 pm  CLASS CANCELLED

Session 5 Thurs., Oct 26; 11:00 – Noon CLASS CANCELLED

Session 6 Fri., Oct 27; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

Session 7 Tues., Oct 24; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Oct 26; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Going to the Doctor

Open your imagination and say aaaaah!  Let’s pretend and practice being doctors and patients as we examine equipment and spend time in our new Tot Spot OSF Healthcare Children’s Hospital.

Sessions for 3 to 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Tues., Nov 7; 11:00 – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Nov 8; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 3 Wed., Nov 8; 11:00 – Noon 

Session 4 Wed., Nov 8; 1:00 – 2:00 pm CLASS CANCELLED

Session 5 Thurs., Nov 9; 11:00 – Noon

Session 6 Fri., Nov 10; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

Session 7 Tues., Nov 7; 9:30 – 10:30 am CLASS CANCELLED

Session 8 Thurs., Nov 9; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Build It!

The Three Little Pigs used straw and sticks and bricks.  You’ll build out of recycled materials and test your house’s strength in the huffs and puffs of our Big Bad Wolf fan!

Sessions for 3 to 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Tues., Nov 28; 11:00 – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Nov 29; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 3 Wed., Nov 29; 11:00 – Noon 

Session 4 Wed., Nov 29; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 5 Thurs., Nov 30; 11:00 – Noon

Session 6 Fri., Dec 1; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

Session 7 Tues., Nov 28; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Nov 30; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Reindeer Games

Travel north to find the wintery zone where real reindeer roam.  Prance with us into frosty fun, play reindeer games, and assemble your own version of a famous red-nosed reindeer.

Sessions for 3 to 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Tues., Dec 12; 11:00 – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Dec 13; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 3 Wed., Dec 13; 11:00 – Noon 

Session 4 Wed., Dec 13; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 5 Thurs., Dec 14; 11:00 – Noon

Session 6 Fri., Dec 15; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

Session 7 Tues., Dec 12; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Dec 14; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

What's Happening?

Check out our calendar of special events.